Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
parmajon_gw

New Gardeners! Why did you start?

ParmaJon
12 years ago

While browsing some garden and food blogs, I came upon some statistics about how many new veg gardeners there are. The timing of the uptick from 34% of us households growing veg in 2009 to 54% in 2010 coincides almost directly with the fall of Lehman Brothers, kinda interesting. I can say that the economy was definitely the reason I got interested in gardening, but not to save money. Work as a farm hand seemed to be the only non-service job I could get when I graduated in 2009, I thought it was a fall back, but it became my leading passion in life. What got everyone here into growing their own?

Comments (23)

• jonhughes
    12 years ago

Hi Jon,
    I'm not brand new (this will be my fourth year gardening, but because I don't know anything, I still feel new ;-)

One of the verses that encourage me to garden , as a way to help out those in need.

Deuteronomy 15:11
    There will always be poor people in the land. Therefore I command you to be openhanded toward your brothers and toward the poor and needy in your land.

I donate all of my vegetables to the local foodbank.

My first year I donated 700 lbs
    My second year I donated 5160 lbs
    and last year I was able to donate 9173 lbs

all of these vegetables were grown in the parking lot of my Contracting business, I have 1379 square feet of growing beds.

{{gwi:45487}}

• Hoschton
    12 years ago

I've had a small garden ever since I was 8-9 yrs old (that was only about 57-58 yrs ago...). It's a hobby I've enjoyed all my life, mainly b/c I LOVE home-grown tomatoes! And nowadays, I grow as organic as possible to avoid GMO grocery store food and to have fresh, good-tasting,healthy food.

• jolj
    12 years ago

When I was small (8 years old or so) my father say "get up, if you eat you have to work too.
    I have been gardening every year now on 40 something years.