Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Moving broccoli outside - help!

Posted by newberrie 5b/6a (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 11, 12 at 20:10

I am completely new at this whole gardening thing, and I have no earthly idea what I am doing. I've made some mistakes already, but I'm trying to make the most of it anyway!

The first frost date I found was apparently for the nearest large city and not accurate for this area. So, I ended up starting my broccoli late. Our frost date is April 24, and I started them indoors on March 25. They're in the Jiffy Tomato pellets, 1 per pellet, under lights in a 68-degree room. They're starting to get their 3rd and 4th true leaves, and I think it's time to get them outside. Outside temps lately have been mid-60s during the day and low 40s at night.

So, how do I harden them off? I know I'm supposed to move them outside into partial shade for increasing amounts of time each day. But, do I bring them back inside to 68-degrees at night? Do I leave them in my insulated (but not heated) garage at night? Do I need to worry about them not getting enough light during the hardening-off process? We have some milk jugs I can use for cloches, if that helps, but we don't have a cold frame or greenhouse. (This year's garden money has gone to soil improvements, seeds, growing lights, and tools like a wheelbarrow, shovels, hoes, etc.)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Moving broccoli outside - help!

I have been taking my broccoli outside every suitable day since they germinated. I am retired and can manage them that way. I planted mine on March 16th and they are ready to be planted today, but I am holding off a day because of freezing weather.

Your broccoli need to be hardened in moderately. By that I mean getting them out in partial sun for a few hours a day. I can leave mine out on nights that are 40 degrees or better in an enclosed patio that isn't sealed up. I don't want to leave them out during storms until they are planted.

o