Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
noreen32

Need ideas�Keeping gardening information organized

noreen32
9 years ago

I have been gardening as long as I can remember and friends often ask me for advice. When I just tell them, they often forget and ask again and again. When I try to write it down, they end up losing the paper or e-mail. I would love to give them all the information in a format that they can reference again every year.

So, I need ideas. How do you keep all your gardening information organized (planting times, varieties, tips and tricks, disease info, etc.)? TIA!!!

This post was edited by Noreen32 on Tue, Apr 29, 14 at 20:22

Comments (11)

• ceth_k
    9 years ago

I have some similar experience regarding the asking again and again part because I myself have done it a couple of times, asking my more experienced gardener friends for advice. The key here is to be patient. There are simply too many things to learn for growing different vegetables successfully, from watering technique to seed saving. It is inevitable for most newbie inexperienced gardeners to ask the same questions multiple times. Some things just could not be fully understood by simply listening. People have to keep doing it and try to get the hang of it as they go.

• ZachS. z5 Platteville, Colorado
    9 years ago

I keep a journal. Sometimes, it's a hand written journal in a notebook, other times, I type into the computer. I list everything that I feel is pertinent. Germination times, notable changes (good and bad) and general progress and what I've done. Some folks track weather but it's so variable year to year I don't bother. The main problem for me is remembering to sit down and do it.