Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovethedirt

Better boy tomatoes in hot weather

LoveTheDirt
12 years ago

I just got some small better boy tomatoe plants and was wondering if it was to hot this time of year in central Florida for them to produce fruit. If it is too hot, then should I keep them in pots and in the shade? Also, if I should keep them in pots than what size pot ahould I use for this type of tomatoe plant?

I'm new to vegetable gardening so thank you.

Comments (10)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

I see you got a couple of answers to your post of this question over on the Tomato Forum here. Some also suggested you check with the folks on the Florida Gardening forum as they can advise you specifically about timing in Florida.

From what I have read in the past from Florida Gardeners, yes it is too late for planting now to beat the heat and the blossom drop that results. You have 2 tomato growing seasons down there - Fall and Winter to very Early Spring.

As to container sizes, Better Boy is a very large indeterminate variety that can easily grow to 6-8 feet tall or taller and will need a very large container (7-10 gallons minimum is common) and good support. I linked a picture of an average plant below.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Better boy tomato plant

• txtom50
    12 years ago

Since you're new to vegetable gardening, you might be interested in the online information the University of Florida has to offer. I used to use their website quite a bit before Texas A&M did their make-over, and found it very useful.

Here is a link that might be useful: UFL vegetable gardening link

• jolj
    12 years ago

There was a test of size of "Better Boy" tomatoes plants & weight of fruit in containers.
    Soil volume 4cu.ft 2cu.ft. 1/2cu.ft.
    Height.......66"......56".........46"
    Fruit.........58.......48...........12
    That test is a old one & was not organic, but everything was the same, only the volume of soil varied.