Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
startergardener

Best use of 8 ft?

StarterGardener
12 years ago

I tend to be overly ambitious and as a beginner was wondering if an experienced gardener could give me some advice.

I built 8 ft of trellis (6 ft high) and would like to grow some combination of sugar snap peas, pole beans, some combination of summer squash, and maybe some winter squash.

Does anyone have recommendations on "shifts"? Like when the peas are done, plant something else? How much do you think I can fit on 8 ft?

Total beginner... first summer having a yard!

Thanks for any help and ideas!

Comments (7)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    12 years ago

Squash has long enough season that you can't rotate peas and squash. With squash you are effectively committed. I go with bush peas for this very reason, and because here they don't perform. We're a squash and melon family so we'd pick them if we had to choose.

Dan

• mrdoitall
    12 years ago

If you live in the SE it's to late for spring sugar snap peas. It will be to hot before they produce a crop. You have to plant them in late Jan. or early Feb.I would plant pole beans and at the end of the 8 ft trellis put you a zucchini sq. plant on one end and 2 yellow sq plants on the other end. Then this fall plant you some sugar snap peas. With about 8 broccoli plants. That's what I would do now if it was my area.

• ltilton
    12 years ago

Most zucchini are bush types these days and won't climb your trellis. Check the seed label. You can trellis melons, but for cantaloupes you have to tie the melons onto the frame with something like pantyhose, or they will fall off and go splat.

Pole beans are an obvious choice. Also cucumbers. And you can grow tomatoes against your trellis with a few ties.

• potterhead2
    12 years ago