Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pictures of seedlings

Posted by rgillham 7 Ga (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 11, 08 at 20:46

Here are some pictures of some tomato seedlings and pepper seedlings. This is my first year with a real garden so I thought I would start some from seeds that have been purchased or saved from tomatoes and peppers. Please tell me what you think. and am I doing anything wrong.
Thanks
Shane

Spinach, Basil and flowers
Photobucket
20 Habaneros and 20 Bell Pepper seedlings
Peppers
30 Jalapeo and 20 Bell Pepper
Photobucket
Lighting Setup
Photobucket
Rutgers and Cherry Super Sweet 100 (50 seedlings total) on 4-11-08
Photobucket
Same Tomato seedlings on 4-6-08
Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pictures of seedlings

Looks good!

Abby

o

Looking good! ;) Just be sure to strip off all those pellet nets before transplanting them.

Dave

o

its unnecessary to remove the netting. Infact you'd be damaging the plant by removing the netting because the roots go threw them. I'd imagine if you REALLY wanted to remove the netting you'd have to transplant them young.

o

Hi sirmac - I think you will find that most all who use the pellets recommend removing the netting (lots of past discussions about it here) and it is quite easy to do. It simply tears away easily and does little if any harm to the plants. The pellet and roots remain intact but once planted the pellet is more easily incorporated into the surrounding soil with the net gone and the fibrous roots can more easily absorb water and nutrients.

The netting not only does NOT break down in the soil but actually restricts root development once transplanted. There have been photos posted here in the past of stunted plants pulled up at the end of the season with the netted peat pellet still intact and minimal roots on the plants.