Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
art_1_

New raised bed - all comments and suggestions welcome

art_1
12 years ago

This is my first time planting so many different things at once. The bed is 15' x 3' x 1'. I plan to attach a 5' trellis to the back and sides soon. I appreciate any comments or advice regarding care, technique, whether to pinch the smallest of the doublets and triplets etc.

{{gwi:46883}}

{{gwi:46884}}

{{gwi:46885}}

{{gwi:46887}}

{{gwi:46889}}

{{gwi:46891}}

Comments (30)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    12 years ago

You'll find out that that spacing for toms and zuke will not be the same next year. And cabbage is a fall crop, esp in that zone. Not sure how those melons and cukes will have enough space either. Its all good and that's how all of us learn.

Dan

• mandolls
    12 years ago

I can second Dan on this. Thats about how close I planted last year, and while it looks great now, you will be amazed what a jungle it is in a month or two. Zucchini can take a 4x4 ft space each. Recommended spacing for tomatoes is at least 3 ft apart.

In zone 9, I would think it is already to late for most lettuce, spinach and cabbage.They prefer weather under 75 degrees.

Last year I had 3 tomato plants in about the space that you have 5, and mine were more crowded than they should have been.

If they havent been in there long, you might want to consider digging up the spinach and lettuce, spacing the tomatoes out further, and then sticking the spinach and lettuce back in amongst the tomatoes. They will be over and done with before the tomatoes get huge, and a little shade will be fine for them in your climate.

Obviously, I dont really know anything about gardening in zone 9. You may get different advice form California gardeners. Good luck and enjoy!

• lunita
    12 years ago