Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Corn HELP!?!

Posted by wv2ga 7 (My Page) on
Sun, May 6, 12 at 9:16

This is my first time growing corn and my dog has taken a fancy to eating the top of some of the plants. They are only about two foot (give or take) tall.

Will keep the plants from actually producing corn? Anything anyone may know off to use as a deterrent to keep her away? I can put a small fencing around it to keep her out but it's not the best looking way.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Corn HELP!?!

fence. no tops no pollination.

o

Since they are only about 2 ft tall, having the tops chewed off should not matter. New leaves/growth will sprout from the top, and tassel will be produced when matured.

o

yes......easiest way may be to spray them with a deer repellent. It really stinks and I don't think your dog would find it palatible, and it may also keep other pests out of the bed.

o

Well, I'm not sure that dogs don't like deer repellant, especially the rotten egg kind, mine is rather fixated on it. Maybe she's wierd, though. But there's always chili oil of pepper flakes. Cheers!

o

• Posted by RpR_ 3-4 (My Page) on
    Sun, May 6, 12 at 15:03

Dogs can be taught to not do things, stop it now or it could just get worse.

Corn two-feet high- you could be in a world of hurt at the very least the corn if it produces will way late.

How many stalks were damaged?
This is much like hail damage that can wipe out an entire corn field.

o

I would use some bitter apple or make a hot pepper spray.

o

Thanks for the advice. If I catch her she'll stop but I'm not around during the day. The bitter apple is a good idea.

First time trying corn, I put the seeds in around a week prior to Easter, so we'll see how it goes. A good number of them look like they've been chewed.

o