Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cucumbers and melons...row covers?

Posted by SunshineZone7 MD 7 (My Page) on
Sun, May 18, 14 at 12:42

I have never used row covers before. I am going to plant some cucumber and melon seeds and I have read there are pests that can destroy young seedlings. If I use a row cover, do I put the cover on as soon as a sow the seeds? Or do I wait until germination? Do I use hoops to keep the cover high or just lay it on the ground?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cucumbers and melons...row covers?

• Posted by digdirt 6b-7a North AR (My Page) on
    Sun, May 18, 14 at 12:54

Support or not depends on the weight of the row cover you are using - weights vary greatly. Floating insect barrier types can be laid on the ground and it "floats up as the plants grow.

Heavier weights will require hoops or supports of some kind and air circulation under the cover to avoid trapping heat. How strong the supports need to be will again depend on the weight used.

Do you plan to trellis the cukes and melons or just let them run along the ground?

But please keep in mind that pollination and production will be reduced under row covers unless you plan to hand pollinate regularly. Otherwise remove them once the plants begin to bloom. So how effective row cover will be all depends on the specific "pest" you are protecting them from.

Dave

o

Thanks Dave. I am getting this cover http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000HHQNBG?pc_redir=1400334780&robot_redir=1

It looks lightweight.
I have read about how terrible cucumber beetles are, I figure should try to protect against them. I figure once the plants are bigger (but not flowering yet) I will remove the cover.

I am still figuring out if I will trellis the melons. I am new to both the cucs and the melons.

o

• Posted by digdirt 6b-7a North AR (My Page) on
    Sun, May 18, 14 at 18:40