Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
metta2006

What to plant now? - zone 8

metta2006
14 years ago

Hi,

It's my first time to plant anything.

I live in western BC, lower mainland, similar climate to Seattle, WA. It looks like it's zone 8. According to this guide, it looks like it's too late to plant seeds of carrots, broccoli, peas, cabbage. Is it really so?

http://www.veggieharvest.com/vegetable-planning/zone-8.html

Can you tell me what seeds I can plant now? Is there a website where there is more comprehensive lists of veggies with schedules? I'm going to plant some in a rasied bed, and some in the ground.

Thanks so much.

Comments (8)

• marlingardener
    14 years ago

Metta,
    We're in zone 8, too, but a LOT different than your climate (want to send us a little of your rain and cooler temperatures?).
    I would think that you could put out tomato, eggplant, and pepper transplants (not seeds) now and have them produce. We just planted cantaloupe and honeydew melon seeds, which can stand the warmer temps as long as they have moisture. You might also be able to put out cucumbers, but I'm not sure. However, never planted, never harvested!
    Do you have a local nursery that supplies vegetable transplants? If so, they are not only a source of plants, but of information. Good luck with your first garden, and remember, we all make mistakes and it is very important to keep trying. We learn from mistakes and eat our successes!

• skagit_goat_man_
    14 years ago