Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hmurphyhere

Mistake Planting Garlic - Can I Dig Up and Replant?

hMurphyHere
11 years ago

This is my first year gardening and I am showing solid signs of being quite the novice...

The directions said to plant whole garlic head. So I did. Now I am reading that it is much better to plant individual bulbs.

My head has already started sprouting (about 1.5-2 inches high with numerous sprouts).

QUESTION: Can I dig up head, seperate, and replant individual bulbs?

Thanks,

Heather

Comments (15)

• skeip
    11 years ago

Never heard of anyone trying this, but as it stands, you aren't going to get anything anyway. Dig it up, separate into cloves and replant at the same depth about 4" apart and water well. You may only get single rounds of garlic, but you will have learned a valuable lesson. We've all made these types of mistakes, welcome to the club! Just for future clarity, the whole thing is a bulb, the individual sections are cloves. You plant a clove and it produces a bulb.

Steve

• hMurphyHere
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks, Steve. Hopefully, all will go well. Even if I get singles, I just want to see something come out of these!

...I see a lot of valuable lessons in my near future.

Will let you know how it turns out,

Heather

• Edymnion
    11 years ago

"Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterward." -Vernon Law

• MikeyIrish
    11 years ago

Hey garlic experts, I am a garden rookie myself, I as well almost planted the whole head then realised at the last minute it's each individual clove... one question though, has anyone tried to stagger garlic planting, can that be done? So you would get a few bulbs say in Aug,Sept and Oct?

• hMurphyHere
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Dear Glib (no pun intended)...Apparently,I do!