Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ltilton_gw

Question about Tromboncino as summer squash

ltilton
10 years ago

I'm planning to grow Tromboncino this year instead of the usual zucchini. This is my first time trying this squash.

Since I want it to be young and tender, I'm planning to pick the fruits at a very small size, which would be before the flowers open. Is there likely to be a problem with this? Does the flavor suffer when the fruits aren't pollinated?

I read a post here from someone who claimed moschata squashes will cross-pollinate to the deteriment of the flavor of both varieties. Has anyone experience growing both Tromboncino and, say, Butternut?

Comments (42)

• farmerdill
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Trombocino is a butternut type so it will cross with other C. moschata. That would not cause a problem unless you wish to save seeds. As a summer squash it is harvested small like you would a zucchini after the flowers and around 6-12 inches They will be good until the skin hardens and the seeds develop. It can also be used a winter squash when allowed to ripen. You can also use regular varieties of butternut as summer squash.

• ltilton
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I've read that Tromb flowers are slow to open. Is there any reason not to pick the fruits before they open?

• glib
    10 years ago

In my experience this is unnecessary. Tromboncino in Michigan is at prime flavor at 12 inches, but I have eaten good ones at 18 or even 24 inches.

• ltilton
    Original Author
    10 years ago

But will it be less flavorful if unpollinated?

• farmerdill
    10 years ago

most likely

• ltilton
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I will have to experiment.

• austransplant
    10 years ago