Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerseymaids

Kale and Broccoli Yellowing?

jerseymaids
9 years ago

Hi all, I'm a newbie here at gardenweb and also a first year gardener (or, at least trying to be after years of yearning and finally having a property with light and dirt and space!)

I tried to keep it modest this year with edibles, just got through a good round of lettuces, growing roma and cherry tomatoes, 1 brussels sprout plant, a few broccoli, a few kale, 2 strawberries, a red grape, raspberry, and two blueberry bushes. Also a mix of different herbs and such, and many different flowers. I had a small spinach plant, but lost it and am assuming it's a similar issue to what I'm having with my kale and broccoli.

Everything was going just fine until recently when I noticed some severe yellowing on the bottom leaves of my kale and broccoli. The broccoli crown production has nearly stopped, they are still quite small, turn yellow and then just die. The top kale leaves look healthy but the bottom are still bright yellow, and it happens almost overnight. If I pluck them off, the next day the bottom ones are yellow again. I did lots of research and saw everything from overwatering/underwatering to not enough nutrients. I believe it comes down to nitrogen, so I went ahead and added some coffee grounds mixed with a hint of lime juice to balance the pH, and also got some organic fertilizer that has 2% nitrogen (the brand is Jobe's Organic for tomatoes and vegetables. Trying to do all of the edibles in organic soil with organic treatments to keep them going.) I put it all in this weekend and this is how my broccoli looked this morning - no change. Kale is about the same. Do I just need to be more patient? Could it be something else? Should I add even more nitrogen rich ingredients? If so, what? We are currently composting but that won't be ready for a few weeks yet. And are these plants even salvageable this season? Thanks in advance for any and all help :)

-Lauren