Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Question: Radish seedlings have long stems?

Posted by kanuk Zone5 QC (My Page) on
Sun, May 10, 09 at 19:22

This is my first time growing radishes(vegetables in general).
I'm not familiar with the plant growth habit of the radish therefore my question is ...
Is it normal that radish have long red stems or should I pile these stems with earth?
The varieties displaying this growth are French Breakfast & Cherry Belle. They are at true leaf stage and appear to be extremely healthy. The stems are red in colour right now (radish colour). The foliage is above the ground surface at about 1.5" at the ends of these red stems like little palm trees in effect. They are not flopping.

Are they displaying legginess or is this normal growth? Are they needing more light/fertilizer? Should I bury these stems by piling earth up around them?

Any advice would be appreciated & "thanks" in advance.
KanuK

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Question: Radish seedlings have long stems?

The reddish stem is normal. Garden veggies need at least 6 hrs. of direct sun light a day. Fertilizing only if you see "yellowing/pale greening" of the leaves. No need to pile up earth.

o

the stem in ground starts to thicken up, I thought the same as you a couple of weeks ago, but they are doing okay now, shame I hate them! I only grow them due to impatients, they come along and I can believe that the rest of the veg is on its way!

o

• Posted by kanuk Zone5 QC (My Page) on
    Sun, May 10, 09 at 23:14

Thanks perzold6596 & heather38!
I'm glad to know that things are progressing as they should...
I'll just sit back and relax!!
Cheers!

o

I am growing those exact same varieties this year...

One other thing to mention (and I agree with both the other posters), if you over seeded and there are more than one stem per inch and half (or so) then you should thin them out a bit.

Steve

o

• Posted by kanuk Zone5 QC (My Page) on
    Mon, May 11, 09 at 8:40