Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
bad soil?

Posted by shawnalynn3 none (My Page) on
Mon, May 14, 12 at 19:24

Hello all, This is my first year and Ive been working on my garden area. Yesterday we tilled the soil and Im scared that it may be mostly clay. Im just not sure, it clumps easily when wet and gets really hard when its dry. I bought a ph testing kit at home depot also and Im hoping I did somthing wrong because the pH came out as around 8, the potassium came out as high and the nitro and phos came out clear, not even a tint! Im so worried now that all of my plants will not make it once they are transplanted there. I hope I did it wrong, does anyone have any advice????

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: bad soil?

I live in SE Michigan I should add and when we were tilling, it went smoothly. Ive read so much contridicting info only regarding clay in soil that I am absolutely confused :)

o

You can do an informal assessment of your soil by digging out a scoop about 6 inches down, putting it in a jar, adding water, and then shaking it. When the particles settle, you can see layers of what your soil is composed of. You can also contact your local agricultural extension office for information. The link below is from California, but the information is for soil in general. The good news is that clay soil has a lot of nutrients.

Here is a link that might be useful: soil

o

Nothing wrong with clay soil except that it should not be worked wet. You get lots of clods that way. Soil test kits are notorious for giving false readings. Get a soil test done by your local ag extension agent if you are concerned.

o

Organic matter will help loosen tight soil which you seem to have. If your tests are kind of accurate, I would add fertilizer to get some essential food into the soil for this year at least. I have had quick success in loosening soil with peat moss.