Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hobbiest

Potatoes..plant by the signs?

hobbiest
11 years ago

Was at the co-op today. Was looking for some potatoes to plant since this is my first year of trying them. Bought a few Kennebec ( Blue Goose ) spuds to put in the ground. The guy there said that to get the best harvest possible, plants would produce more if planted by the signs. He said that May 5,6,& 7 was an ideal time according to his calender. There were many other dates of course but the closest ones were what he told me. Any of you believe in such a thing? I have heard of this but never really payed attention to such stuff. Just stuck my seeds in the ground, watered them and was on my merry way.

Any thoughts?

Comments (31)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Believe in it? No. Superstitions and old wives tales perpetuated by myths.

Depending on where you live, your gardening zone, the proper planting times are determined by the soil temperatures in your garden. In my zone potatoes are planted in early March as soon as the soil can be worked.

Dave

• Edymnion
    11 years ago

No, its superstition and mumbo-jumbo.

The only signs you should be watching for are the practical ones, like temperature, rainfall, etc.

• nancyjane_gardener
    11 years ago

I don't follow it, but doesn't The Farmers Almanac plant by the moon fazes? Many people follow that line of thinking/planning. Nancy

• RpR_
    11 years ago

Is it a wives tale, probably not but gardening by the moon is more empirical than scientific.
    No one seem to know why menstrual cycles seem to follow moon cycles also.

Read this for what is supposed to work.

http://www.gardeningbythemoon.com/signs.html

I guarantee you if you put a modern gardner who deliberately ignores moon cycles against an old farmer who seriously follows them, the farmer will make the other gent look a bit silly.

• Edymnion
    11 years ago

Well yeah, one is a hobbyist the other is a learned professional.