Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dirtguy50

Potatoe damage would like your help with

Growing potatoes in 18 gal containes and has been enough rain not to dry out. Noticed some leaf damage today and found a few small green worms under some leaves. They are about 3/4" long and move like a cat, meaning hump up as they move. Would appreciate any input as I am new to this totally. Hope the pics turn out okay. Thanks to everyone!

{{gwi:59173}}

Comments (8)

• dirtguy50 SW MO z6a
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Maybe {{gwi:59174}}the damage will help. Thanks everyone.

• planatus
    11 years ago

You have an inchworm or 'looper' there, and cabbage loopers are able to digest potato foliage. Also, it has been a huge year for green inchworms that live in trees in the east, so a few could have blown in and are making the best of where they landed. It looks far, far short of a serious infestation, which you can easily control with hand picking. The pest to watch for is a striped beetle that lays yellow eggs, the colorado potato beetle. Squashed my first one this week.

Here is a link that might be useful: cabbage loopers

• another_buffalo
    11 years ago

Hey Dirtguy - your potatos look great. My question is how do you plan to store them? That is where I get lost. Anyone have suggestions?

As for your loper worm, it does not look that bad. I'm in SW MO also and discovered a large infestation of army worms in my buffalo's pasture last week. Think of what a tomato worm does in the garden - that's what army worms do to a pasture. I went out a few days later and found loads of 'mummy worms' that parasites had killed. When you use pesticides for worm control, you kill those good insects also - so try to avoid unless all else fails.