Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shawnalynn3

how much do you grow and of what?

shawnalynn3
11 years ago

This is my first year gardening and I almost have everything in the ground. I get different reactions from different people about how much Im growing. Some say way to much and others grow more. I want to have extras of everything to can and pickle. I have 3 adults and 3 kids living here (my mom staying with us) Also I have this fear that nothing will produce so I tried to plant a little more of some things. Anyways here what I have so far.

-30 tomato plants- lots of dif varieties

-16 eggplants

-7 watermelon plants sofar

-1 cantelope

-20 pepper plants most bell but a few hot pepps

-15 corn (my husband wanted me to try em)

-16 cucumber plants

-16 zuchini plants -3 dif varieties

-6' row of kale

-6' row lettuce

-6' row rainbow chard

-6' row fennel

-some carrots

-a cute raspberry bush that wont produce this year im sure

-a crap ton of herbs

-15 pole bean plants

Comments (25)

• shawnalynn3
    Original Author
    11 years ago

sorry, just saw another post similar to this... my list is nothing compared to most of those :)

• muddynurse
    11 years ago

I have about 35-40 snap peas, 50ish green beans, 6 cukes, 25ish zucchinis of 5 varieties, total of 20ish varied tomato plants, 15-20 varied pepper plants a few watermelon, honeydew and cantaloupes, and this weekend Im thinking of throwing in my eggplants, pumpkins and herbs...feel like im missing somethings!!

..........oh and this is my first garden....ekk!!!!

Let me know you do shawnalymm3!!

• glib
    11 years ago

Not enough pole beans and greens. You will want to eat out of the garden most of the year. I am content with 20 tomato plants and 10 pepper and eggplants total, but I have to have 40 cardoons and 60 collards, plus similar amounts of kale and turnip, 100 garlic and 100 onions, and lesser amounts of carrots, parsnips, butternut squash, and beets for storage.