Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
david883_gw

Kale - indentification and help

david883
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

I think this is my first time in the vegetable forum!

On a whim this weekend I bought some Kale to plant. Of course, after getting home, I went to pull the tag out and saw the tag read "red dynasty kale". Just my luck I grabbed one that had been mislabeled. Anyway... I know it is a cool weather vegetable from cooking with it for a while. This, obviously, didn't stop me from getting it anyway. It looked kinda of sad to begin with but I thought get it out of the flat and into the ground and it'll be fine. Its been in two days and I'm not so sure....

If anyone can help me identify it and give me some growing tips/info. I've read a few other posts but still kind of confused.

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• pnbrown
    10 years ago

So it was far bolted like that in a pot when you bought it? Kind of strange. It will make seed pretty soon, which you can allow to self-sow for fall time.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

David, you DO understand that the kale you purchased has already gone to seed, don't you? That's why it looks so pitiful. This will not be a harvestable plant as far as table fare goes. Collect a few seeds later on, if you want, as pnbrown suggests.

• flora_uk
    10 years ago

David - if you did buy the kale with the flower stalk already there I would try returning it to the seller. They should not have been putting a plant in that condition on sale as it is of no use in the garden except for seed, as rhizo_1 mentioned. They were taking advantage of a newby grower and no reputable seller should have had that plant on display.

• david883
    Original Author
    10 years ago