Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shawnalynn3

did I plant to late??

shawnalynn3
11 years ago

This is my first year gardening and Ive learned a lot here so I figured Id ask one more question that Im worried about! I think I may have planted to late, Ive started everything from seeds and followed the directions, I live in SE Michigan zone 5b and planted indoors about 5-6 weeks ago. My tomatoes are only about 6" with 3-4 real leaves, they have made progress since Ive transplanted them so Im hoping they will catch up to all of the other toms Im seeing at the farmers markets. My sweet & hot pepper plants however are stll only 2-3" :( I havnt started cukes or zucchini as the instructions said to sew in garden after frost is over. Ive heard that this is the common time to plant in the garden but was I suposed to start everything indoors? Everything I see at the farmers markets are huge compared to mine:( Also my eggplants are small like my peppers. Is there any chance they will catch up now that Im going to put them in the ground? Ive had one problem after another. I cant wait another year lol! ( the toms were transplanted into larger pots and started getting bigger while the peppers and eggplant are still in the jiffy pots.)

Comments (16)

• dhromeo
    11 years ago

Be careful comparing your veggies to what is at the farmer's market. At Springfield's farmers market here in illinois, 95% of the vegetables that are being sold are not grown locally. I even caught one guy who had bought tomatoes at the grocery store before he came.

This time of year for your area, any vegetables that are warm weather crops, like tomatoes and cukes and peppers were either grown in a hot house with professional grow lights to counter the shorter spring daylength, or were shipped in from somewhere farther south.