Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bobmixon

Peas, Bottom Leaves are Brown

BobMixon
9 years ago

Greetings,

I have a bunch of peas growing, in pots, and I am finding the bottom 4" to 6" of leaves are browning. All of the plants are producing peas but I don't know why the leaf browning is happening.

This is my first time growing peas so any help would be greatly appreciated...

Thak you,
Bob

Comments (16)

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    9 years ago

Powdery Mildew most likely. It doesn't show up(symptom-wise) like it does on cukes and squashes. But whenever I've grown snow peas, I notice the warm weather brings it in and wipes out my peas. You might be able to prolong them by using a fungicide, but PM is something you need to deal with proactively -- BEFORE symptoms occur.

I could be wrong though. Let's see what others say.

Kevin

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

If they are already producing peas the plants are not long for this world anyway so I wouldn't worry too much. The mix looks a bit dry. Is that the case or is it my eyes?

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Agree that in most of CA it is getting too late for peas to survive anyway. So while the problem could be caused by the very unusual way you are growing them or by mildew, they aren't long for the world.

Dave

• AiliDeSpain
    9 years ago

How long do peas produce? Mine have just started flowing. Not to hijack the thread :)

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

Those clear plastic tubs are likely heating up the soil too much for those peas, which can hasten their passing on through the veil :). Peas like their roots cool. Up here, the harvest window can range from as little as 3 weeks for unmulched peas in full sun, to 8 weeks for mulched peas in part shade.

• AiliDeSpain
    9 years ago

So they do better in shade and should be mulched? Learn something new every time I visit this forum. I will Mulch mine ASAP!

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago