Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deano88

NEWBIE - How to reform my "weed garden" into a vegetable garden?

Deano88
9 years ago

I'm a complete newbie to gardening, so forgive me if this is in the wrong place.

Basically, I have a small garden on the back of my property which I've pretty much left abandoned since I moved in (2 years ago). I've always wanted to utilise it but being ignorant in the ways of gardening I've never known where to start.

I want to go green and grow some of my own vegetables. Maybe some flowers too if I get good at it. Currently the garden is covered in thick weeds. The soil seems very poor, and in some places is more rock than soil. If I wanted to transform this weed wreck into a vegetable paradise what steps would I need to take? (PS - In very very easy to understand steps please)

Thanks!

Comments (22)

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

In the 1970's there was a television show with James Crockett called Crockett's Victory Garden. He was given a parking lot and the first episodes were all about turning that hard packed dry area into a garden. He brought in tons of soil amendments (all at once) to fix his parking lot! Assume up front that the soil is all about being "very poor, and in some places ... more rock than soil", and there's your start. It can only improve.

One trick people will urge you to use is the one of not digging up the whole shebang at once by making board beds coming up from ground level. That allows you to concentrate efforts on one piece at a time. It also minimizes digging in the rocks. If you have excess money, try square foot gardening, perhaps the most expensive way to go if you're trying to do everything at once.

But the most important rule for me to follow is you're always working for next year. Plan ahead. Rushing for time is your enemy.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago