Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Yellowing Leaves/Nitrogen Question

Posted by fruitychick 8a (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 26, 13 at 7:34

Morning!

I've done some searching but can't quite find the answer to my question.

I have some yellowing leaves on all of the plants in my new bed. From searching this forum, I know this could be due to a couple of issues, so I'm trying to test/eliminate them one by one. First, I'm trying to add nitrogen with blood meal.

My question is--will the yellowing leaves green back up after adding nitrogen? Or should I be looking only at the new growth color to see if that is the solution to my problem? If the yellowing leaves should green back up, how long should that take? A few days? A week?

I have a few other remedies gleaned from this forum to try if this doesn't work.

Thanks! This is my first year with a real garden.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Yellowing Leaves/Nitrogen Question

Yellowing leaves is commonly caused by too much water. Light green leaves indicate a lack of nitrogen. Light green tomato leaves for instance, will turn a darker green within a week after a good dose of fertilizer.

o

No, all the leaves won't re-green after adding nitrogen.

That said, please post images to that we can just what sort of yellowing your leaves exhibit. Until then, all responses are just guesses.

o

Here's the zucchini plant with the yellowing leaves. It is in a 2x4 raised bed that gets about 5 hours of direct sun and 2 hours of dappled sun/bright shade every day. I know that isn't ideal but my yard is extremely small and this is the sunniest spot.

o

That yellow leaf is finished. A balanced fertilizer will help with the new growth. Have you fertilized much already? Not sure where you are located but be careful with the watering. Can't be avoided here in the east though.......lots of rain.

o