Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ourhappyhome1

Potatoes for Fall Crop

ourhappyhome
15 years ago

I'm a complete novice when it comes to growing white potatoes. I've been researching this online and can't seem to find much information on fall planting. Why are potatoes planted only in the Spring? If possible/reasonable, I'd like to plant and harvest in the fall, not overwinter. I'm in Georgia zone 7B. Would it be possible to plant an early, heat resistant variety and actually get a good harvest? I have a few experimental seed potatoes. These would be planted in say ?? early September ?? September temps average 81/64, October temps average 72/51, our first frost is usually early November, with November and December temps around 60/40.

Oh, and what about planting now? If fall planting is a bad idea, can they be planted in June or July in zone 7b? Thanks!

April

Comments (11)

• bigfoot839
    15 years ago

Hello
    here in alabama i planted my potatoes in may (yes got a late start on every thing due to alot of rain early on) not sure what the harvest will be doing but sure got alot of plant going on from what i understand (novice potato grower here) long as you keep hilling them they will grow ga vs al not alot of differnece i would say go ahead and plant them see what happens.

• ourhappyhome
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Bigfoot, Shebear, I'm so encouraged! What variety are you growing? I love Yukon gold.

• shebear
    15 years ago

If I plant, I'll probably do a small red variety. Or maybe a fingerling. I'm not sure I can get seed potatoes here at this time of year so I guess I'll visit the organic section at Whole Foods and pick some up. I hate doing that but since food gardening isn't a big thing here, I have to roll with the punches.

• lzyjo
    15 years ago