Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aulani_gw

Fava Beans. What to expect?

aulani
15 years ago

This is my first year planting Fava beans. I ordered these from Italy. They took a long time to germinate, but yesterday I noticed that they are finally breaking the soil. Any information on the package was in Italian and I don't speak it. I'm guessing they should be put to a trellis. Thanks for any information you can provide.

Comments (9)

• piotr01
    15 years ago

Supposably if you eat them before you go to sleep you'll have some crazy dreams.

Also i think they grow like a weed so you can't kill them.

• alfie_md6
    15 years ago

No trellis.

Also, they (you know, them) say to plant them in the early spring. They're one of the few beans that I know of that like cool.

• deep___roots
    15 years ago

I plant them in early Winter as cover crops. They get 2 - 3 feet tall. Strong sturdy plants. Get pods in March. But I pull them up usually once they start to flower before the pods are set because that is when they have the most beneficial qualities for soil improvement (nitrogen set on the roots).
    Some varieties are good eating. Yours probably are.

• happyday
    15 years ago

I have read to let them set so many beans then to cut off the long flowering top spike, as they will put energy into growing it instead of finishing any beans once it gets too hot for them. Once the beans they have set are mature, you can pull out the plant, maybe plant more for a fall crop

• david52 Zone 6
    15 years ago

I grow them every year. There are three basic techniques to snarfing them.

- pick the small pods, say 3" long 1/2" in diameter, and eat those whole - stir fry is good.

- let the pods get to the point the seeds inside are half - formed. Discard shell, eat really tender beans. These are wonderful, and what I shoot for - think risotto, adding to pasta, and so on.