Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nick2012_gw

Graying kale leaf

Nick2012
9 years ago

Hello fellow gardeners. I am fairly new to growing kale in my garden. I started my kale from seeds and have been doing extremely well so far. A few days ago I noticed a grey outline on one of my kale leaves. Then today I noticed more of my kale plants have this grey ring on the leafs and I am very concerned at this point and don't want anything to happen to my kale plants. They still seem to be growing and it doesn't seem to be taking over the entire plant just separate leafs on individual plants. I have been giving the plants Miracle Gro once a week and we've had some very heavy rains that have been splashing dirt on the leafs I don't know if this has anything to do with it. I've looked for this on the internet with no luck, I can't imagine this is something new however. Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated thank you for taking the time to help me.

Comments (12)

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

Is that full-strength Miracle Gro? If so, could be salt burn from overfertilization. Kale is not a heavy feeder and does not need MG once a week.

• Nick2012
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Yes I mix it full strength per the instructions, salt burn huh? Boy I hope so that would be an easy fix! Thank you very much for the input, any other ideas? I've posted another picture of a different plant.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

I agree that you are over feeding. And the leaf seems strangely shiny. Is it wet? If not it's weird. And are they growing in grass?

• Nick2012
    Original Author
    9 years ago