Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julia42

How do I know when a plant (cucumber) is done?

julia42
12 years ago

This is my first year gardening and I'm still figuring a lot of things out. I have two Marketmore cucumber vines that have been producing like crazy this last month. I think I've gotten about twenty cucumbers from each vine. It's starting to get hot (it's supposed to hit 99 today) so they wilt a lot and I'm noticing a ton of aphids on the plants, but they're still producing a cucumber or two every few days. My temptation is to leave them in as long as they're still producing, but I wonder if it would be better for the overall health of my garden area to remove them. Get rid of all those aphids (too many to get rid of any other way, really) and let the soil rest until fall plantings...

What do you experienced veggie gardeners recommend?

Comments (9)

• adrock430
    12 years ago

Not that I'm too experienced, but I like to split up the planting, with one set at the normal time, and one a month later.

Either that, or you can start indoors a month ahead, and plant the seedlings and seeds at the same time. I've noticed that, like Zucchini's, production falls off a cliff, although they still produce some

• shebear
    12 years ago

Are you feeding and watering them alot. Cucumbers are like teenage boys--you can't feed them too much--well maybe not really but organics are mild.

Unless the plants are yellow or white or brittle instead of nice and green, I wouldn't pull them. If you do pull them, add compost and fertilizer to the soil and replant them. It's a long time cool weather down there and they should keep producing until they freeze.

I keep eating fresh cucumbers until I can't get anymore since the garden ones are so nice.

• Donna
    12 years ago