Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bloomin_onion

Pollinated? and Zukes vs Crookneck?

Bloomin_Onion
9 years ago

Hi all, I have a small veggie garden in Zone 3. I'm new to all of this, I even just googled the zones so I knew I was posting the right one!
So I'm one of those people that likes to know the whole detailed process of stuff, so I apologize in advance for being detail obsessive lol...
So I started my plants indoors w lights, the whole 9 and now I'm a full month ahead of most as my plants are starting to produce (I think) whereas harvesting time here is usually August. My first question is regarding my "zukes". I am just so confused about when a female flower opens and if the green baby zucchini looking things at the base of my zuke flowers mean they've already been pollinated? I know it sounds like a no-brainer but there are wayyy under developed female flowers with swollen bases... they couldn't have possibly opened and been pollinated yet, right? I mean they're only a few cm's long but the bases are swollen. Here's a pic of a female flower with one of the nobs I mentioned. Is she pollinated? I hope you all get my question here... I'm not asking how they get pollinated, or how to hand-pollinate which is how most have answered as I've asked a few before ending up here. I'm asking why do the 2 cm long BABY female flowers and the large female flowers both have swollen bases, and how to tell if they've been pollinated and when they female flowers are ready for pollination? The females have to get big and open to be pollinated, right... so the tiny, tiny females aren't ready yet... but they are swollen also behind the flower in comparison to the males. Like... the stems are "meatier" which I can see even though they're so tiny.