Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nocluescarlett

planted veggies too close

nocluescarlett
14 years ago

I am a novice gardener and in my second year of planting a small vegetable garden. Last year I planted everything WAY too close together and had a huge mess when the plants reached full size. This year I made more space and planted further apart, but it's been two weeks and I can tell I've planted too close together again.

My question is, would it be less harmful to the plants to let them grow in crowded, or move them now while they are still kind of small? A few of the plants didn't look very good after I planted them the first time, I chalked that up to transplant shock. Everything looks pretty good now with excpetion of the zucchini, that still looks like it's struggling a little - which surprises me because that was my heartiest plant last year - those things went crazy!

The plants I was thinking of moving are tomatoes, eggplant, peppers, cucumbers and summer squash. I wasn't going to move them far, just dig out the garden a little more and spread them out.

Comments (11)

• jimster
    14 years ago

Those things should transplant well, especially if transplanting is followed by a day or two of cloudy weather.

Replant the tomatoes deeply. They will put out roots all along the buried part of the stem.

It's not too late to direct seed more cucumbers and squash if you wish, either as replacements or back ups for the ones you have.

Jim

• dave_f1 SC, USDA Zone 8a
    14 years ago