Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
popke

Cabbage loopers on cucs

Krit Pop
10 years ago

My big and beautiful cucumber plant is being overtaken by cabbage loopers. They have gone from eating the leaves to eating the fruit. We have tried Neem Oil but it hasn't helped. Should we try a more aggressive spray? Yesterday we bought some praying mantis eggs but they haven't hatched yet. If we spray the plant will it hurt them?
How far gone is too far gone for recovery? Should we cut off the damaged leaves or leave them. We are new to veggie gardening.Our plant is in a large container and is climbing a trellis. How long does a cucumber plant typically produce for in FL zone 9?
Thank you so much!!!

Comments (13)

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

Spray with BT -- available at any home improvement or nursery. Will not harm beneficials like the mantids. Also, a fly swatter works wonders on the adults.

Kevin

• cait1219
    10 years ago

I'm a newbie too and I'm not sure if I had cabbage loopers or some other type of caterpillar/worm but they were eating my eggplants like crazy (the leaves). I sat out there on a stool and had some tongs and I picked every single one of them off and killed them (or you can put them in a bucket of soapy water). After I was done I moved my plants (which are also in containers) to the other side of the yard and so far so good! I check daily now but there's been no sightings and no new damage.

• jeanwedding. zone 6
    10 years ago

sounds great Kevin the flyswatter route... but how to get the good for nothings to hold still.... Please they bug the heck out of me too,
    Thanks

10 years ago

jeanwedding: I didn't say it was easy .LOL. You actually have to hunt them down as they flutter all over the yard and then finally land on some foliage. Then you have to sneak up on them -- they're very sensitive to YOU.