Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunfarmer

wasps around my purplehulls

sunfarmer
14 years ago

in my long history of gardening, this is my first year to purplehull peas. they are doing very well and we are about to make our first picking. but strangest thing,,,,,,there is constant yellow jacket activity around my plants. they land on plant to plant and are constantly busy but doing what,,,,i can't figure. they seem to land on the part of the plant where the peas are but they act like they are searching around for something but immediately fly to the next. does anyone have a clue to their attraction to the purplehull plants? i have a little of everything else in a standard spring garden but the yellowjackets are concentrated in this one area.

just curious.

marty

rogers, texas

Comments (12)

• shot
    14 years ago

Marty, most likely they are polliating. Last year we had lots of bees (mostly bumble bees) in our peas (some purple hulls) and you could pull a pea off that they were on and they would just fly to the next. Only person that got stung was my bro-in-law's girlfriend and that was because she accidently grabbed one.
    We need the bees.

Shot

• nc_crn
    14 years ago

Yellow jackets are very territorial compared to a lot of other "stingy things."

1- make sure they're not hoverflies (they look live very tiny waspy things) because they're good at pest control of the baddies.

2- if they are yellow jackets and visiting they're usually (mostly) harmless unless you're near the nest or scare the crap out of them.

Here is a link that might be useful: hoverfly pictures

• farmerdilla
    14 years ago

Agree with nc-crn; Yellow Jackets are harmless to your plants, but they do love sweets and protein rich foods. That is why they do a number on fruits. Watch for a severe aphid infestation on your peas. Peas are very attractive to aphids, and Yellow Jackets love Honeydew which the aphids secrete.

• nc_crn
    14 years ago