Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rook09

Overgrown/crowded

rook09
14 years ago

Hello to the best site with the most experienced gardeners I have found. I hope to leave out the horror stories of how I got to this point and hope to give you guys just the facts .

This is my first time...I made a raised bed...org supposed to be 2 x 8...once built 6 x 12...ok no big deal. Expect once I had more room, I went BIG. I planted way to close together and itÂs been in since 4/28. I have tomatoe plants as tall as me...and healthy as can be. I have 2 foot tall eggplant, huge huge squash and zucchini, peppers that are so far well behaved..The middle row lacking a little from the tomato forest growing next to it. Herbs at the other end which are growing so fast that IÂm giving herbs as lunch time gifts at work. I have golf ball size tomatoes on some plants. I put in several different types of tomatoes (ughm..cause I love them) and then some romas and apparently they are a low grower? These plants are growing over and sideways...which is where part of the problem is.

Fact: I used almost 3/4 part mushroom soil and 1/4 top...

Yep, I had no idea this was going to produce this...org thought it would burn...I guess I must have mixed well...not to sure.

Problems...My north corner tomatoe plant are the smallest cause of the density of the rest. I am sort of ok with this. I feel as though I need to trim...especially the romas and at very least some of the tall ones...can I trim? Where can I trim? Squash? zucchini?

I thought I made the best plan...I had no idea that in less than 30 days i would have this. I have a few other issues on other beds..( which I already was suggested not to go to big my first year..but I couldnÂt stop..I got so excited.

A grateful heart looking for a mentorÂthank you

Comments (5)

• jimster
    14 years ago