Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abloom_gw

Lots of leaves, no potatoes

abloom
15 years ago

I have a few rows of the most beautiful tall, leafy, flowering potato plants. All that's missing are the potatoes! I interplanted some with other vegetables, planning to pull them up early for new potatoes. But three of the four plants I gently dislodged had not even any tiny potatoes started. Do they need potassium or some other substance, and if so, can anyone suggest an organic source? Thanks!

Comments (11)

• fostina1
    15 years ago

me too. first garden, maybe impatient?

• momamamo
    15 years ago

Hi! I'm new to growing potatoes as well, but I read that the baby potatoes show up 2-3 weeks after flowering. For mature tubers you wait til the plants die back.

So it looks like we all have to wait! Maureen

• tcstoehr
    15 years ago

If you're new to potatoes as I am, I would suggest waiting until the vines die down to the ground. Then, either you will have potatoes, or you won't. You likely will. If not, there's not much you can do about it now. The point being that you might be digging too early.

• grandpop1
    15 years ago

I'm usually able to gravel out potatoes when they bloom - plants probably 2' above hill. They will generally be just under where the ground is cracked. If you get alot of folage and no taters, you likely used too much nitrogen. I have large potatoes and my plants have yet to die back.

• rdback
    15 years ago

Hi abloom,

Here's a organic fert source for 'ya. This is my first year of trying Root Crops Alive, so the jury's still out. I have (and do) use some of their other products with great results in prior years.

Good luck and have a great growing season!

Here is a link that might be useful: Root Crops Alive by Gardens Alive

• Lcgrace Mahoney
    15 years ago

I have a question but I'm trying to figure out how to "word" it. Please forgive me! lol