Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cait1219

Lost my plants to the SVB's

cait1219
10 years ago

Well, it's happened...My squash and zucchini plants and I have lost our battle to the SVB's. This is my first year gardening and my plants were in containers. I could of probably done a better job at preventing them (I discovered the eggs too late....scraped off what I saw but I guess it was still too late) but I tried. When I noticed the frass on some of the vines I had my husband slit the stems with a razor. We pulled out several and I thought all was fine but several days later I noticed more frass higher up and at that point the plants were wilting and flower buds dying off. Sure enough I dissected the plants today and found several more. I'm pretty upset...I was looking forward to a summer full of squash and zucchini. I've said this before but I'm amazed at how invasive those little things are! Maybe I'll have better luck next year....I suppose I'll try covering them with tulle then.

Comments (11)

• Donna
    10 years ago

It's not too late. In our long growing season, you can take another stab at it and still get plenty of squash. I am growing mine under row cover tents and hand pollinating the blooms. It is really not a big deal. Takes about 2 minutes. And, it is working.

• highlandernorth
    10 years ago

Is there a point in the season where stem borers(which is what I assume SVB's are) will no longer be laying eggs? Most insects have a set lifespan and they do their egg laying at that certain time, then afterwards they are beyond their egg laying phase. If so, maybe new plants could be tented from now through mid July or so, then the plastic removed so they can naturally pollinate.