Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelelc_gw

Millions of Aphids on my lettuce

michelelc
13 years ago

ARG!! I have an infestation of aphids on my lettuce. I'm not talking a few, but the lettuce looked speckled at first, b/c of all the aphids. There are both red and green ones. It's been a fairly wet week here in MA and I had row covers on. I picked 3 heads, which are covered in aphids. I will toss them, I don't think any amount of soaking will get rid of them. I'm not fond of eating them. I have about 12 heads left, with this level of infestation, should I just pull them all up and get rid of them. This is my first year experiementing with row covers and I feel like maybe the row covers exaserbated the infestation, any opinions on that? Thanks!

Comments (22)

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Why not just spray the lettuce? You can blast them off with water easily or you can use soapy water spray (1T dish soap in 1 gallon of water) not to mention that insecticides are available if you use them.

As to whether the row cover just made it worse or not, that will all depend on the weight of row cover material you used. The lightweight insect barrier poses no problems but heavier fabric could by blocking air circulation. Also aphids are quickly drawn to excess nitrogen so go easy on the fertilizers.

Dave

• michelelc
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Yes, the row covers were the lightest weight insect barrier. I will try spraying the lettuce I didn't remove tomorrow. There are so many, I don't think the hose will get all of them.
    Is there something that will prevent them from coming back? Last year I bought ladybugs and they seem to help.

• michelelc
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Yes, the row covers were the lightest weight insect barrier. I will try spraying the lettuce I didn't remove tomorrow. There are so many, I don't think the hose will get all of them.