Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ailidespain

Does this mean a tomatillo is growing?

AiliDeSpain
9 years ago

Does this mean there is a tomatillo growing in there? Total newbie question.

Comments (17)

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago

I've got no idea as I've never grown them. However, I wonder if the husk is thin enough to where it's possible to candle them. You know, as one would candle an egg to see if the embryo is growing. At the very least it wouldn't hurt the plant at all and if it works you'll know for sure.

Rodney

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Interesting idea Rodney :)

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

Most likely, yes, although occasionally empty husks are produced. You should be able to tell in a few days by gently feeling the husk for a pea-sized fruit.
    My first batch of tomatillos always end up being undersized for some reason (i.e. they don't burst out of the husk), while later batches end up being normal.

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the info slimy. I am anxious to see if there is one in there lol. I will feel it gently in a few days. :)

• seysonn
    9 years ago

I would say, once you have a husk it has been pollinated and yes, a tomatillo is growing inside it.
    In flower stage it is hard to tell but a strong stem connecting the expired flower to the branch is good indication that it will make it.

Mine has just three flowers, with weak stems. I am not holding my breath ! I can pretty much tell ahead time if a flower is going to make it or not.

• missingtheobvious
    9 years ago

Tomatillo flowers must be pollinated with pollen from a different tomatillo plant. (Not a different variety of tomatillo -- as with apples -- but simply a second tomatillo plant.)

So if you have only one plant, hope for a wandering bee who's been visiting a neighbor's tomatillo....

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    9 years ago