Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fishrayne

Fungus Gnats and Mushrooms in containers

Fishrayne
10 years ago

Is there any way to get rid of fungus/mushrooms, and fungus gnats in my vegetable and herb containers? This is my first time doing any gardening. I planted, from seed, bush green beans, yellow squash, parsley, and cilantro in containers about a month ago. I used Miracle Gro Organic Choice for container vegetables, and I live in central Ohio, where it has been quite wet so far. A couple weeks ago, I noticed little mushrooms growing in all of the pots, and have been picking them out every couple days. Shortly after I noticed the mushrooms, I noticed little flies crawling all over the surface of the soil. They do not eat the leaves of the plants, but they are all over the soil surface. After some research, I discovered they are fungus gnats, which are attracted to soil high in organic material, which mine is. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get rid of them??

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Both are almost always a result of keeping the soil too wet. So letting it dry out more between watering will make the fungi die off and at least some of the fungus gnats leave. If it is all from rain then try covering the containers in some fashion so the rain doesn't hit them - even cardboard boxes work well.

But if you want to eliminate the gnats completely you need Bt - in the form of the Mosquito Dunks - dissolve part of one in water and use it to water the plants a couple of times. it kills both the gnats and the larvae.

The little "mushrooms" won't hurt anything. They are common with organic soil mixes because of the compost it contains and are a sign of healthy soil. You can just scratch them back into the soil or just ignore them for the most part.

Dave

• Fishrayne
    Original Author
    10 years ago