Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iowajer

First time garlic grower has a question.....

iowajer
10 years ago

Hi,

I posted this over on the Alliums forum too, but I just noticed that that forum doesn't look real active and because I'm ignorant about this garlic growing thing, I'm wondering if I need answers quick. If I need to do some kind of corrective action I'd hate to have been waiting on an answer and have it arrive too late.

So I figured there's probably some folks over here who grow garlic...

Hopefully it's nothing anyway :)

Anyway, I planted two varieties of soft-neck garlic on 10/23/12; Siciliano and Inchelium Red.

I have zero experience with garlic, and don't know what I should do about this deal, if anything...

I'm seeing bulbs show up along the stalks in a few of them. Some are nearer the top like this:

{{gwi:75814}}

And some are in the middle like this:

{{gwi:75815}}

And some are more at soil level like this:

{{gwi:75816}}

I assume these above ground bulb things are robbing the under-ground bulb of some growth potential, but I don't think it's time to dig the garlic up yet. I mean I don't see a lot of brown leaves.

Can someone tell me what I am supposed to do, or if I am supposed to do anything at all?

Thanks,

Jerry

Comments (14)

• Anne Wolfley
    10 years ago

They're called bulbils and I don't know if it will help the bulbs to cut them off at this point. I think people use them for seed, although I've read it takes a couple years for them to fully mature. Advantage is that they were never underground and thus are less likely to carry a disease.

I'm sure there's someone else here who knows a lot more about this than me.

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago

Those are bulbils growing on scapes (flower stalks). Normally you would pinch the scapes off and eat them (they are very tasty) long before they got to this point as they do rob the underground bulb of nutrients.