Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
panthercreekleather

Weeds Weeds & Weeds .... My 8 Year Plight

I have been fighting weeds in my garden bed for 8 years now. I broke the ground from grass, and have the composition exactly as I need it.

However, every year .... weeds, bermuda grass, and more weeds.

The first year ... I smothered the entire garden with wood chips from a local tree service. It took a total of 8 loads for my 50' x 60' plot, and I poured on the nitrogen.

2nd year ... I let it rest and added 2 dump trucks of composted horse manure.

3rd year .... I mixed everything in really well, and now ... for the past 6 years I've had nothing but weeds and bermuda that will never go away!

Should I resort to raised beds with a thick wood chip base?

Comments (8)

• jimmy56_gw (zone 6 PA)
    9 years ago

I'm not sure on this but I think horse manure has more seeds that germinate then cow manure, You could try spaying roundup on it about 4-5 weeks before planting or lay black plastic down or mulch with straw.

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago

I think perhaps the "composted horse manure" wasn't as composted as it should have been. Either that or the composting process never heated up enough to kill the weed seeds.

You'll never get rid of all the weeds anyway so I'd just keep going at it as you are. Using thick mulch will help and hoeing them off as seedlings works great.

Rodney

• glib
    9 years ago

and then you never, ever mix. mixing brings up seeds from below. but I do get beds out of control. then it is time for cardboard plus mulch, punch small holes through the cardboard, plant seedlings.

• wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana
    9 years ago

The saying goes like this...Let it seed 1 year and weed 7 years.

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

I agree with glib - mixing is probably what did you in. Those weed seeds can stay viable for a very long time.
    Another mulch option for warm-season crops is black plastic.

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA