Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brookekirchner

vegetables for heat and shade

brookekirchner
9 years ago

I asked this on my state forum and got a few responses but looking for more. I realize I'm late getting started so looking for ideas for the fall planting season. The weather here stays very hot until september/ october (100's). I just bought a town home with a walled patio and a large shady tree next to it.

I get probably 2-3 hours of partial shade a day. I would love to do raised beds but I don't want to waste my time. I'm a complete newbie! any ideas for vegetables that will tolerate the heat and the shade? I don't have a ton of space so I would have to do raised beds or containers of some sort.

so far the ideas given to me have been:

small bush squash
radishes,
korabie,
onions.
Arugula
Celery
Kale
Lettuce
Peas
Potatoes
Spinach

I'd appreciate any advice or other ideas!

Comments (13)

• glib
    9 years ago

arugula in 100 weather? please. Plant okra, malabar spinach, and/or amaranth. Possibly sweet potatoes.

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

What do you mean by 2-3 hours partial shade? Do you mean it gets full sun the rest of the day outside those 2-3 hours?
    I second Glib's suggestions, and I don't think any of the veggies on your list would work. Watermelon may also work if you provide sufficient water.

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    9 years ago

I'm assuming you're asking about fall, after the 100F temperatures cease. Now, around here, that's pretty much October. I find sweet peas do marvelously over the winter. Plant in November, and harvest in March. They'll endure temps down to the low 20s, but do fine as low as freezing. 2-3 hours of shade is no problem for them.

Not sure about squash. I consider that very much a summer veggie.

If you planted peppers now, they'd do fine until it got pretty cold. They are, however, completely intolerant of frost.