Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisatx04

Planting in a bag of soil?

lisatx04
15 years ago

I just read this somewhere and I don't know if it would work...

If your soil is not ready for planting, buy a bag of garden soil. Cut some holes in the(back of bag)and lay it on the ground. Cut open the top of the bag(front), and transplant a tomatoe plant into it. Mulch, water, fertilize and watch it grow! At the end of the season, dump the soil onto the ground, and that should help with amending the soil for next year.

What do you think? I am new to veg gardening and have clay soil. Am thinking of trying this for a fall harvest.

Comments (4)

• jimster
    15 years ago

The bag method works fine from what I have read. I don't know why it wouldn't and it certainly would be convenient.

I am philosophically opposed to buying soil by the bag, maybe because my grandfathers both were farmers. I buy my soil by the acre. :-)

Clay soil is not necessarily bad for gardening. It depends on the type. It may be a little messy to work with but it can be very fertile.

Jim

• lisatx04
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Jim. The clay soil I have is as hard as concrete!
    I definitely have to amend it before making any kind of garden. That is why I am thinking of doing the bag, then for next spring make a really good bed using the compost I am presently making here at the house. We don't eat a ton of tomatoes, so 1-3 plants would work well.

Thanks again!!

• deep___roots
    15 years ago

It works real good. If you buy a soil product marketed especially for vegetable growing, you couldn't find anything better to plant in.