Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kurbans

Transplanting problems?

kurbans
9 years ago

Hi fellow gardeners - I have a question that has plagued me this whole season. I'm not totally new to gardening, but this is my first year doing it in CO.

I get my starters from the farmer's market, and they look great initially. Then, after I transplant them, the leaves almost immediately start to yellow/brown and wilt. Here is an example of some cucumbers that I transplanted yesterday (how do you post more than one photo in a thread?):

Comments (12)

• kurbans
    Original Author
    9 years ago

...and here is a picture from today. The smaller leaves are yellowish/brownish and wilting with little spots on them.

And this has been happening with almost all my transplants (cucumbers, cantaloupe, edamame, sunflowers etc.). Am I doing this wrong? What's going on here? And most importantly.... WILL THEY SURVIVE?

Any advice/help/knowledge is appreciated!

• kurbans
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And here is a picture of my edamame.. Similar for each transplant.

• loribee2
    9 years ago

I've always been told that deterioration that quickly is from transplant shock. Is it possible it got colder last night than you expected?

• Deeby
    9 years ago

Are you keeping them well watered? In the beginning, plants need more so that the surrounding soil is wet and the roots have moisture when they reach deeper and wider. I just learned this myself from the garden center, when I asked why my transplanted potted geraniums always croaked in a few days. My newest geranium is soaked every two days and she's green and strong ! So glad I asked !

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    9 years ago

Do you know if they were hardened off properly?

What is the mix you are using in your containers?

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago