Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mcrose_gw

Harlequin Bugs - need help quick!

McRose
9 years ago

I have 6 Brussels Sprouts in my community garden that had been growing really well. Today I noticed they were looking a bit wilty, and when I looked closer I noticed they were COVERED in bugs that I've now identified as Harlequin Bugs.

I've read up on picking them off and killing them, and I'm going to be completely honest here - I don't really have the time/inclination to devote to that endeavor, and I seem really outnumbered by them.

So I'm prepared to sacrifice my Brussels Sprouts. Disappointing, definitely, but it's my first year gardening and I'll chalk it up to learning.

But here's my big concern/question:

I'm most focused on ensuring that the little buggers don't move on to my tomatillos, tomatoes, peppers, squash, etc. Those are the crops I care most about.

I've read that Harlequins will move on to other crops if there aren't brassicas around.

So, do I:

a) keep the Brussels Sprouts as bait for the Harlequins, and let the bugs go to town on them to keep them away from my other plants or

b) yank out all the Brussels Sprouts and hope they take their deadbeat Harlequin guests with them, pack them all in a garbage bag, and be done with them.

What would you do?

Comments (7)

• sweetquietplace
    9 years ago

Have you tried a handheld vacuum to suck them up? I'd try that before giving up your brussel sprouts.

• Christian
    9 years ago

I had the same problem. But since I have my garden in my back yard, it was easy for me to just spend a few minutes a day picking them off. I just crush them with my fingers. I've killed hundreds, and finally have them under control... I have not seen many the past few days. Part of what I did was to really prune many of the leaves off of my plants, so to make the bug inspections easier to do. Also keep an eye out for their egg clusters... they look like tiny cylinders, tan-and-black.