Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilacs_of_may

Questions about round zucchini

lilacs_of_may
15 years ago

My 8 Ball zucchini plant has consented to give me a zucchini. It's gotten fairly big, about 4 inches wide and 5 inches long. My question is, how do I know it's ripe? Do I wait for it to get round rather than oblong? Or are 8 Ball zucchini in the field (vs. in the showroom) not always billiard ball round?

I hope this plant will eventually give me more zucchinis.

Comments (18)

• noinwi
    15 years ago

This is my first year growing them. I've read they taste best picked at about 3"-4" in diameter, so that's when I'm picking them. I'm sure I'll end up forgetting about them and getting some large ones that I'll use in zucchini bread, as they will be less tender. Just as with regular zucchini, the size you let it get to depends on how you're going to use it. Try not to let them get too big, though, or the plant will stop producing.
    The first one I picked I simply sliced and sauteed with a little olive oil and seasoning. It was very good.
    HTH

• lilacs_of_may
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I guess I didn't make myself clear. Should I wait for them to get round? Are they ripe if they're oblong and not round? Is round kind of the ideal 8 Ball zucchini that doesn't always happen?

• mscratch
    15 years ago

You may pick them when they are the size of an eight ball as in pool or billiard ball for the most tender and mild flavor or you can just let them grow larger, and they will grow quite large which I prefer for making relish or grilling. I cannot recall mine ever being oblong so I have no idea about that?? I am not saying it cannot happen re: being oblong, and you certainly can pick them at whatever stage you want. I think that if I had oblong ones I would most likely pick them at the size of a small eggplant which would probably be about the 4-6" size as mentioned.

• karen_pgh
    15 years ago