Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daniellalell

Rosa Bianca Eggplant..help? advice?

daniellalell
15 years ago

Hi, this is my first year with anything edible other than strawberries. Got some tomatoes goin, started collecting ripe ones last weekend.

Anyway, I started some 'Rosa Bianca' eggplant seeds indoors under lights over the winter..maybe Feb? Can't find where I wrote it down..yeah I'm organized, lol. I got my first eggplant flower the other day. Pretty flower BTW, could grow them just for the flowers! Was wondering how long do you think I will have to wait before my first eggplant will be ready?

Do eggplant flowers self-pollinate or do they rely on bees or others? I didn't think of this till today when I panicked that I may not get an eggplant from that flower. Maybe I should be hand pollinating?

TIA,

Daniella

Comments (11)

• jimster
    15 years ago

It's pretty exciting, isn't it? Keep calm and water the plants when necessary. If you see any Colorado Potato Beetles, murder them immediately. Other than that, all you need is patience.

Jim

• opal52
    15 years ago

I grew Rosa Bianca for the first time this year also. Mine are in Earthboxes. I learned from an earlier post I made that there is no need to hand pollinate eggplants. The blossoms are both male/female. Re. time to maturity, it took about two weeks early in our season for the eggplants to mature after I saw the first indication that an eggplant was forming. Later in the season, it seems to take less than two weeks to mature. All of this depends of course on what size you consider mature. You can pull them early, or leave them on for a while. To me either way, they taste very good. In zone 7B, in EB's, I have had no problems with pests. Maybe I'm just lucky this year.

• daniellalell
    Original Author
    15 years ago