Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maxim1122

Tomatoes are a big fail!

Maxim1122
9 years ago

Hello, this is my first year growing tomatoes.
At first, they started showing signs of blossom end rot (not sure though if it's blossom end rot) on the fruit, and I applied some cold coffee to acidify the soil, about 3 cups already, and a week later still no signs of normal tomatoes, and I know for sure that it's not a problem with calcium in the soil.
Then some of the stems began to get dark brown, and the tomatoes on them took a yellow tint and began to get wrinkles on them.
Is it a disease?
Thanks!

Comments (10)

• Maxim1122
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Brown stems, with yellow leaves, beginning to dry..

• Maxim1122
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Tomatoes get a yellow tint and wrinkles.

• planatus
    9 years ago

What variety are you growing, and is it resistant to fusarium wilt? If the whole plant turned yellow and died just as it loaded up with fruit, fusarium is a good guess.

• Charlie
    9 years ago

I had the same problem last year and attributed it to fusarium wilt and other soil borne deseases that can be limited by crop rotation. I have a small garden so rotation was not really possible. This year I selected only tomato plants that were labled "VFN" or "FN." None of those tomatoes have exhibited probelms, however my wife bought six plants that were not labled VFN or FN and at least two of those plants have started showing the desease.

• mdfarmer
    9 years ago

What area do you live in? It looks like blight to me. You can check with your local extension agency to find out if blight is in your area yet. All my tomato plants look like that by the end of the season, but not until the end of October. I plant some blight resistant varieties (Defiant), and i also spray every week or two with liquid copper or Serenade to control blight.