Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smg3480

Flourishing Pepper Plant gone Droopy

smg3480
9 years ago

This is my first year really gardening, I have tinkered with flower beds and herb gardens over the years but this year I went all out and built a big veggie garden.... I've run into a few bumps but I believe it's doing ok so far at least with my being a beginner that is.
Since I only had so much room I had intended on planting all my peppers into 5 gal buckets but was unable to and ended up only planting one Anaheim into a bucket, it has been flourishing SO well, WAY better than my ground planted ones and I didn't want to drill holes into my buckets so I put a few inches of pebbles on the bottom before adding soil and like I said it had been doing excellent!
However, a couple of days ago I noticed it drooping and after checking it out it appeared to be overly wet as water was standing at the top. Now I haven't had any drainage problems and it hasn't rained in a week and I have been self watering and may have over watered.
I drained out some water and drilled in a couple drainage holes because I do not want to lose one of the best plants in my garden, but it's been a couple days and it's still droopy, I could really use some help with this.
Should I just leave it to try to dry out some more see if it comes back or is there something else i should be doing?
Usually it's because I under watered and they perk up within hours of a good soaking.
I bought one of those good rainfall showering hose ends because that's what is recommended to make sure my plants are getting a good water each time I water and since peppers actually like a lot of water it's the one I've been doing good with and I'm not used to the amount that comes out of that wand and really hope my pepper plant will come back to me!
I noticed a couple flowers are turning brown and it does have quite a few fruits growing at a good size already so please please I would greatly appreciate any help with this.