Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ettaterrell

how many per person ( please help)

ettaterrell
9 years ago

Ok I've searched the web and on this site with no luck (web gives crazy answers like 5 cucumber plants per person!!) This is my first year gardening and I'm now planning my fall garden but have no clue as to how many per person or per family of 4 I should plant. I am wanting to freeze some too. Also, if any of these listed is to much of a problem to grow let me know. Any help on this would be so great!!!

broccoli
Brussel sprouts
cauliflower
collards
kale
lettuce
mustards
spinach
turnips

Comments (14)

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago

Unfortunately, that's a question that's impossible for anyone except yourself to answer. It depends on how much of a certain vegetable you and your family like to eat. So just plant. Then decide if you want/need more or less of something and plan accordingly next year.

The pests you'll have to watch for the most with the broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, kale, collards, mustards, and turnips (all of these are brassicas) are aphids and cabbage worms and/or loopers. There's a ton of info on controlling them if you search this forum.

And in my experience, you need A LOT of spinach plants to get a decent sized harvest.

Rodney

• elisa_z5
    9 years ago

I totally agree with Rodney -- you'll only learn from trial and error. I keep a notebook and write down info on each crop and whether I need more or less than I planted on the previous year.

It will also depend on your soil and growing conditions. For example, most people seem to plant lots of tomato plants, but my tomatoes become little jungles and I get plenty to use, can and freeze from 5 plants. I don't want any more tomatoes than that!