Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bostonrookie

what to do about ants where i am about to place raised beds...

bostonrookie
10 years ago

Hello,

I just moved into a new house that had a 40' x 40' vegetable garden that was left untended for 6 years or so. I was able to save a plot of asparagus and a good number of raspberry bushes and I am planning to put raised beds in a 24'x34' that I have cleared.

As I was clearing the area I discovered a few ant colonies that looked pretty large. Various types of ants.. fun to watch them move their eggs back underground as I removed rocks and landscape fabric... but do they belong in my garden?

My question is what, if anything, should I do about them? Is it safe to spray them if I am going to be placing 12" of soil above where I spray? What about the colonies that fall where I will be placing pathways, etc.

Any advice is greatly welcome. I am new at this and want to make sure that I am starting out on a good foundation.

Regards,
The Rookie

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Generally ants are no problem in the garden. They are basically garden neutrals unless they are fire ants. But if there are some really large colonies/nests then you may want to dig them up so they scatter or move them.

If you feel you need to kill them then sprays won't do it as you have to saturate the hive deep down to get the queen. Many times nests are several feet deep. You have to use bait traps to get the ants to take it down into the nest.

Some claim pouring boiling water on the nest will do it but I can't attest to that personally. Some also suggest that keeping the area well saturated with water for several days will force them to move.

I'd suggest some Google research on "how to destroy ant nest".

Dave

• bostonrookie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks! Think I have a handle on the problem! Beds are built now and should be placing and filling them soon.

• bostonrookie
    Original Author
    10 years ago