Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's wrong with my pepper plant? ;_;

Posted by Raptor666 none (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 18, 14 at 12:24

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v140/AzraelVanth/Garden/July2014016.jpg~original

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v140/AzraelVanth/Garden/July2014017.jpg~original

It's a "Big Bertha" pepper plant. I was all happy it had a pepper on it, but so far it's the ONLY pepper and now it has that nasty brown spot. I Googled for brown spots on peppers and only came up with bacterial disease and the suggestion was to rotate crops etc but this is my first year of planting _anything_ at all and it's not affecting the leaves that I can tell, though oddly some are twisted so the undersides are facing up, but all new leaves since I bought it are normal.

I also just noticed that although it had lots of flowers, they fell off or became little green nubs that would become peppers then fell off in various stages, the largest being the size of a US nickel. I thought maybe lack of pollinators, but there's shedtons of bees in the yard on the clover and bumble bees love the cantaloupe flowers nearby, and I see sweat bees hanging around the pepper plants. Besides, I thought pepper plants were self-pollinating.

Whatever this is, it won't spread to the "sweet bell" pepper nearby will it? I'm assuming to cut off the diseased pepper.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's wrong with my pepper plant? ;_;

Looks like sunscald, but I am not an expert (yet) :) ...

o

Hi, thanks for the reply. I googled sunscald but that looks much different than whats on my pepper. Sunscald appears to be more white, while this is sort of a nasty brown. But I had no idea peppers could get too much sun, especially since the tag and websites say full sun! Also the fruit had a lot of leaves around it and all the flowers/pepper buds fell off. Can that happen with sun scald?

o